Early bird registration deadline is September 15, 2008

Washington, DC – September 11, 2008 – SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) has announced a prominent slate of speakers for the SPARC Digital Repositories Meeting 2008 in Baltimore on November 17 and 18. The gathering, organized by SPARC in cooperation with SPARC Europe and SPARC Japan (a Japan National Informatics Institute initiative), will examine how open online archives may be enhanced to further serve scholars, institutions, and the public. 

Leaders, innovators, and practitioners from North America, Europe, and Asia will explore new frontiers in building and supporting online open archives. Four timely discussion tracks bring together speakers with far-reaching experience: 

New Horizons (Monday, November 17, morning)

Speakers: Norbert Lossau (Director, Goettingen State and University Library and a leader of Europe’s DRIVER Project, Germany), Jennifer Campbell-Meier (Doctoral Student, Communication and Information Sciences, University of Hawaii, USA), Shawn Martin (Scholarly Communication Librarian, University of Pennsylvania, USA).

Developing Value-Added Services (Monday, November 17, afternoon)

Speakers: Sayeed Chodhury (Associate Dean for Library Digital Programs, Johns Hopkins University, USA), Joan Giesecke (Dean of Libraries) and Paul Royster (Coordinator of Scholarly Communications, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA), Hideki UCHIJIMA (Librarian, Kanazawa University Library, Japan).

The Policy Environment (Tuesday, November 18, morning)

Speakers: Bernard Rentier (Rector, University of Liège, Belgium), Syun Tutiya (Professor of Cognitive and Information Sciences, Chiba University, Japan), Bonnie Klein (Information Collection and Copyright Specialist, Defense Technical Information Center, USA). 

Campus Publishing Strategies (Tuesday, November 18, morning)

Speakers: Rea Devakos (T-Space Service Coordinator, University of Toronto, Canada), Catherine Mitchell (Director, eScholarship Publishing Group, California Digital Library, USA), Teresa Fishel (Library Director) and Janet Sietmann (DigitalCommons Project Manager, Macalester College, USA).

Filling out the extensive program will be a marketing practicum for repository advocates, an innovation fair, and keynote talks by John Wilbanks, Vice President for Science at Creative Commons and director of the Science Commons program; Bob Witeck, CEO and co-founder of Witeck-Combs Communications, a renowned marketing communications and public relations agency in Washington, DC; and David Shulenburger, Vice President for Academic Affairs at the National Association of State University and Land-Grant Colleges (NASULGC).

For program detail, see the conference Web site at

The SPARC Digital Repositories Meeting 2008 is supported by major contributions from Microsoft (Conference Sponsor); Berkeley Electronic Press, BioMed Central, and EPrints, (Coffee Break Sponsors); and by additional contributions from: Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), Association of Research Libraries (ARL), CRKN (Canadian Research Knowledge Network), DSpace Foundation, Fedora Commons, Greater Western Library Alliance, HP, the Japanese Coordinating Committee for University Libraries, JISC, and NISO. 

This meeting is a follow up to SPARC’s popular 2004 institutional repositories conference, which drew hundreds of participants from around the globe and set the stage for some of the key developments in open access of the past four years.

To register for the SPARC Digital Repositories Meeting 2008, visit the conference Web site at Early Bird Registration is available only until midnight on Monday, September 15. 



SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), with SPARC Europe and SPARC Japan, is an international alliance of more than 800 academic and research libraries working to create a more open system of scholarly communication. SPARC’s advocacy, educational and publisher partnership programs encourage expanded dissemination of research. SPARC is on the Web at

The SPARC Digital Repositories Meeting program has been developed by the members of the 2008 Program Committee: Jun Adachi (SPARC Japan), Raym Crow (SPARC), Richard Fyffe (Grinnell College), Susan Gibbons (University of Rochester), Melissa Hagemann (Open Society Institute), Karla Hahn (Association of Research Libraries), Bill Hubbard (SHERPA), Rick Johnson (SPARC), Michelle Kimpton (DSpace Foundation), Norbert Lossau (Goettingen State and University Library and DRIVER), Joyce Ogburn (University of Utah), Terry Owen (University of Maryland, College Park), Kathleen Shearer (Canadian Association of Research Libraries), Alma Swan (Key Perspectives Ltd.), Sean Thomas (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Susan Veldsman (eIFL), and Charles Watkinson (The American School of Classical Studies at Athens).

Jennifer McLennan
Director of Communications
(The Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition)
Save the date: The SPARC Digital Repositories Meeting 2008
November 17  18, 2008 | Baltimore, MD
(202) 296-2296 ext 121
[log in to unmask]