Greetings Colleagues!

The recording from last week’s episode “Episode 6: Overview of Current Trends and Their Legal Implications” is now available! You are invited to watch the recording and explore the supplementary resources provided for this episode and all previous episodes here:

Episode 6: Overview of Current Trends and Their Legal Implications provides an overview of copyright and other legal considerations surrounding software preservation, sharing and reuse. Close attention is paid to differences between national intellectual property regimes. Special Guests include Kendra Albert (Harvard University), Andrew Charlesworth (University of Bristol), Brandon Butler (University of Virginia).

Our final episode in the Software Preservation Webinar Series, “Episode 7: Software Preservation and Public Accountability: Moving the Needle,” is scheduled for this Wednesday, July 18 // 8am PST - 10am CST - 4pm BST/CET and will feature Special Guests Andrew Charlesworth (University of Bristol), Brandon Butler (University of Virginia) and Burkhard Schafer (University of Edinburgh). There are a few spots left - register here:

About the Series

The Software Preservation Webinar Series provides a survey of software preservation contexts. Each episode explores a different software preservation context by providing an overview, discussion with guest speakers (specialists in digital preservation, software studies, scholarly communication, open source software and more) and open discussion with attendees. The webinar is jointly hosted by the Digital Preservation Coalition (DPC) and the Software Preservation Network (SPN). Acknowledgement and sincere thanks to all of our special guests and registered attendees. Warm appreciation to series colleagues-in-arms Sarah Middleton (DPC), Paul Wheatley (DPC), William Kilbride (DPC) and all the members of SPN Training & Education Working Group: Anne-Marie Trépanier (Canadian Centre for Architecture), Sherry Lake (University of Virginia), Andi Altenbach (Studio Gang), Neil Chue Hong (Software Sustainability Institute), Elizabeth Parke (McGill University), Daina Bouquin (Harvard/Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics), Morgan McKeehan (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill), Devon Olson (University of North Dakota)  and Julia Kim (Library of Congress).

On behalf of the SPN and DPC,

Jessica Meyerson

Jessica Meyerson
Research Program Officer
Educopia Institute

Working from Austin, TX | 512-864-4575

to manage your DLF-ANNOUNCE subscription, visit