Society of American Archivists J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award


Please excuse cross-postings. 


The J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award Subcommittee of the Society of American Archivists (SAA) seeks nominations for the 2021 award.


The J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award honors an individual, institution, or organization that promotes greater public awareness, appreciation, or support of archival activities or programs. The individual's or institution's contributions may take the form of advocacy, publicity, legislation, financial support, or a similar action that fosters archival work or raises public consciousness of the importance of archival work. Contributions should have broad, long-term impact at the regional level or beyond.


Recent winners include:

·  2020: Brad Pomerance, CJ Eastman AND Council of Independent Colleges’ Humanities Research for the Public Good Program

·  2019:  Tempestt Hazel AND The Kitchen Sisters (Davia Nelson and Nikki Silva)

·  2018: Yvonne Lewis Holley AND Brad Meltzer

·  2017: Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI)

·  2016: Lin-Manuel Miranda and Ron Chernow



Nominees must be from outside the archives profession.

Individuals involved in archival work, either as paid or volunteer staff, or institutions or organizations directly responsible for an archival program are not eligible for this award.


Nomination Requirements:

A completed nomination form.

Sponsor and Funding:

Established in 1989, the award honors J. Franklin Jameson, a noted American historian, former president of the American Historical Association, and long-time advocate for the establishment of a U.S. National Archives. The award is funded by the Society of American Archivists Foundation. Up to three awards may be given each year.



A plaque.


Submission Deadline:

All nominations shall be submitted to SAA by February 28, 2021



For more information on this award, including the nomination form, please go to

For more information on SAA awards and the nominations process, please go to



Forwarding on behalf of SAA


Kathlin Smith

Senior Director of Communications

Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR)

211 North Union Street

Suite 100-PMB1027

Alexandria, VA 22314



to manage your DLF-ANNOUNCE subscription, visit