Please excuse cross-posting

Conference Announcement:
Aligning National Approaches to Digital Preservation
Date: May 23-25, 2011
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Conference Website:<>

Ensuring long-term access to digital resources is a task few institutions or even countries can take on by themselves. Cooperation is key to successful digital preservation: cooperation between individual institutions, sectors, and countries. For this reason we are pleased to announce the "Aligning National Approaches to Digital Preservation" conference. While there are many annual events that support and encourage information exchange across national boundaries, no event has yet attempted to set a strategic direction across the range of topics represented here: Organizational, Technical, Legal, Standards, Economic, and Education alignment. This conference intends to provide a participatory forum for information exchange and focused work on these topics for the purpose of building international collaborations to support the preservation of our collective digital memory.  The outcomes for the event will be a strategic alignment of national approaches to enable new forms of international cooperation and an edited volume that documents an action plan for building collaboration among interested digital preservation initiatives.

Keynotes and Panel Chairs include:

 *   Laura Campbell - (U.S. Library of Congress)
 *   Gunnar Sahlin - (National Library of Sweden)
 *   Inge Angevaare - (Netherlands Coalition for Digital Preservation)
 *   Joy Davidson - (HATII, University of Glasgow)
 *   Maurizio Lunghi - (Fondazione Rinascimento Digitale)
 *   Adrienne Muir - (Loughborough University)
 *   Raivo Ruusalepp - (Tallinn University)
 *   Michael Seadle - (Berlin School of Library and Information Science, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
Panel Speakers include:

 *   Dwayne Buttler - (University of Louisville)
 *   Sheila Corrall - (University of Sheffield)
 *   George Coulbourne - (U.S. Library of Congress)
 *   David Giaretta - (Alliance for Permanent Access to the Records of Science)
 *   Stéphane Goldstein - (Research Information Network - RIN)
 *   Neil Grindley - (Joint Information Systems Committee - JISC)
 *   Martin Halbert - (University of North Texas, Educopia Institute, MetaArchive)
 *   Nancy McGovern - (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research - ICPSR)
 *   Wilma Mossink - (SURFfoundation)
 *   Adam Rusbridge - (HATII, University of Glasgow)
 *   Andreas Rauber - (Technical University of Vienna)
 *   Mihkel Reial - (National Library of Estonia)
 *   Sabine Schrimpf (Deutsche Nationalbibliothek/nestor)
 *   Bohdana Stoklasova - (National Library of Czech Republic, Prague)
 *   Aaron Trehub - (Auburn University, ADPNet)
 *   Matthew Woollard - (UK Data Archive)
Current Sponsors include:

 *   U.S. Library of Congress
 *   University of North Texas Libraries
 *   ProQuest
 *   Auburn University Libraries
 *   Council on Libraries and Information Resources (CLIR)
 *   Internet Archive
 *   DuraSpace/DuraCloud
 *   Guardtime
Please visit<> to register or to get more information on participating in or sponsoring this conference.
Immediately following the conference, on May 26th, the ESDI Roundtable Workshop (<>) will be held to provide an international forum to discuss the implications of the Blue Ribbon Task Force conclusions and recommendations, focus on new work in this area, and hear from a range of participants about the various national actions that are being taken to ensure an economically sustainable digital future. Places at this meeting are very limited and some will be filled by targeted invitation. Please contact Neil Grindley at JISC ([log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>) to inquire about participation.
Best regards,

Martin Halbert, PhD, MLIS
Dean of Libraries and Associate Professor

University of North Texas, 1155 Union Circle #305190, Denton, TX, 76203
(ph)    940-565-3025   (web)<>

Believe you can and you're halfway there.
-        Theodore Roosevelt


To unsubscribe from the NDSA-ALL list:
write to: mailto:[log in to unmask]
or click the following link: