Please excuse cross-posting.

We are pleased to announce the publication of Aligning National Approaches
to Digital Preservation, edited by Nancy Y. McGovern (Volume Editor).

On May 23-25 2011, more than 125 delegates from more than 20 countries
gathered in Tallinn, Estonia, for the “Aligning National Approaches to
Digital Preservation <>” conference. At
the National Library of Estonia, this group explored how to create and
sustain international collaborations to support the preservation of our
collective digital cultural memory. Organized and hosted by the Educopia
Institute, the National Library of Estonia, the US Library of Congress, the
University of North Texas, and Auburn University, this gathering
established a strong foundation for future collaborative efforts in digital

This publication contains a collection of peer-reviewed essays that were
developed by conference panels and attendees in the months following ANADP.
Rather than simply chronicling the event, the volume deliberately broadens
and deepens its impact by reflecting on the ANADP presentations and
conversations and establishing a set of starting points for building a
greater alignment across digital preservation initiatives. Above all, it
highlights the need for strategic international collaborations to support
the preservation of our collective cultural memory.

This volume is written with a broad audience in mind that includes
librarians, archivists, scholars, curators, technologists, lawyers,
researchers, and administrators at many different types of memory

Aligning National Approaches to Digital Preservation is the second of a
series of volumes edited by Katherine Skinner (Series Editor) and published
by the Educopia Institute describing successful collaborative strategies
and articulating new models that may help memory organizations work
together for their mutual benefit.

Readers may access Aligning National Approaches to Digital Preservation as
a freely downloadable pdf and/or as a print publication for purchase.
Please visit to download or order the

Authors include:
Martha Anderson, Inge Angevaare, Dwayne Buttler, Laura Campbell, Sheila
Corrall, George Coulbourne, Joy Davidson, Christian Egger, Michelle
Gallinger, David Giaretta, Neil Grindley, Martin Halbert, Jan Hutar,
President Toomas Hendrik Ilves, Christopher A. Lee, Maurizio Lunghi,
Clifford Lynch, Nancy Y. McGovern, Marek Melichar, Wilma Mossink, Adrienne
Muir, Andreas Rauber, Adam Rusbridge, Raivo Ruusalepp, Gunnar Sahlin,
Sabine Schrimpf, Matt Schultz, Michael Seadle, Katherine Skinner, Bohdana
Stoklasova, Aaron Trehub, Bram van der Werf, and Matthew Woolard

Katherine Skinner, PhD
Executive Director, Educopia Institute
[log in to unmask]
404 783 2534


To unsubscribe from the NDSA-ALL list:
write to: mailto:[log in to unmask]
or click the following link: